3 Weeks Left!

Wow, where has the time gone? I can’t believe that there is only 3 weeks left of school, and then I will be a graduate of the U of R’s Education Program.

Although it may seem like the time has flown by, as I reflect I realize that getting here was quite the journey… It wasn’t until my last semester in High School that I started looking at prerequisites to get into Universities, and fortunately all I needed was one extra class (Bio 30) and I was able to pick it up. Then I decided that I was going to take a year off and figure out what I wanted to do, but a representative from the University of Lethbridge came to our school so I went to listen to hear her speak. At the end of her session she gave us an application form, so I filled it out. A few weeks later I received my acceptance letter.

Since the U of L did not have an immediate acceptance into the Education program, I studied English for my first two years. After that I could apply to the Education program, but I was too afraid of taking a prerequisite for the program (Ed 2500) because it required presenting in front of my peers. I waited until my last semester of my 4th year in Lethbridge until I took that class. Since it was my last semester I decided to apply to several education programs, not just the one in Lethbridge. I applied to the University of Victoria, University of Lethbridge, and the University of Regina. I applied to the middle years program here at the U of L but was offered a spot in the elementary program. I accepted it, and two years later, here I am!

Relating this to students, sometimes they may need just a little bit of extra time to figure out who they are and where they want to be. Some students may not find these things out until they get there–much like I did. I believe that patience and encouragement are two of the most important attributes that a teacher should have. With these two traits, anything is possible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 Weeks Left!

  1. courosa says:

    This must be a very exciting time! Congratulations on being successful through the program, even if things went a different route for the first part of the program. So happy that you will be able to relate your experience to that of your future students!

  2. Wow, this is a great post! I agree that time sure flies and I can’t believe we’re finished soon. I still remember EPS 100 and non-education electives like they were yesterday. As for me, my first instinct was not to become a teacher. Everyone thought I would be in the sciences. So, I looked into optometry at the University of Waterloo. My cousin also talked to be about her career as a veterinarian as I was also deeply interested in that. However, I was feeling quite hesitant to do these things and I wasn’t sure if I would be happy in the end. I knew that I had so much experience with children and really loved kids! Education was just the way to go!

Leave a Reply

